Living the Australian dream! - Reisverslag uit Tamworth, Australië van Amy Visser - WaarBenJij.nu Living the Australian dream! - Reisverslag uit Tamworth, Australië van Amy Visser - WaarBenJij.nu

Living the Australian dream!

Door: Amy Visser

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Amy

06 Oktober 2012 | Australië, Tamworth

HI you guys,

Thanks for all the nice comments on my journal (and to those who haven't reacted: please do! :P)

Left Sydney last Sunday and arrived in Tamworth 6 hours later. The train ride was really nice, all the way through the country and saw my first wilde kangaroos's :D
Tamworth is a small town, and it reminds me a lot of America, like an old American village that you would see in a western movie. It's the top country town in the whole of Australia so a lot of equine stuff is going on around here, the place to be for the cowboy course!
We got picked up on the monday morning by Tim, who's the owner of the cowboy school. He came to pick us up in an old bus, which we all thought wouldn't make it up there, but in the end brought us all back on Friday, so that was nice! I thought it wouldn't be that far away from Tamworth, but it took us a good hour to get there, we went of the tarmac road on to a gravel path and it took us all the way trough the hilss to the Leconfield jackeroo/jilleroo school. We saw loads more kangaroos on the way: really cool!
It was only girls this week ( i must say that was a good thing, guys around here tend to be a bit weird, so far at least) and a few of them were from Holland aswell, so that was definetly nice. We all had a really good time up there, we had to get used to it at first, especially since there wasn't any mobile reception at all, so we were all cut off from everyting and everyone for a few days. ( I managed to climb up one of the highest hills around to call mum with my phone above my head shouting at her that i didn't have any mobile reception for the next few days hahah) After that it was actually really nice and peacefull without my phone haha:P
We had to get used to a few more things aswell, such as drinking rainwater, and eating meat that was from a sheep that was killed right in front of us. Allthough meet doesn't get anymore free range than this, I still wasn't fond of eating that stew, so I ate it without the meat ;)

Anyways... we were in the saddle most of the days, I got to ride Nugget, an actual Brumby!! The only Brumby there so I feel really priviliged! He was such a good boy, doing his very best going down those massive steep hills! It was quite scary, since i was an experienced rider I had to muster the sheep and cattle down the hill, where as the beginners waited there for us to get the animals to that point. Really cool! Saw a really poisiness snake at the water hole one day aswell... it was really out of this world, just being in a place like that.
On friday morning we got to take our horses for a swim, how cool is that! Nugget really enjoyed it! I walked in with him and hung on to his manes whilst we swam in the dam! Definetly a very cool experiences!

I asked Tim if he knew any othere natural hosresmanshippers who were looking for somenone to work on their farm and he did. I got in contact whith him today, and if all goes well I will be working on a ranch from the 15th of October till the end of this year. I'll be in the saddle most of the day riding and training young horses through natural horsemanship methods, and caring for them at the same time. They also have a baby boy which I'll be caring for aswell. Sounds like a dream come true huh? So fingers crossed for this one, otherwise I'll have a look for a cattle mustering job some place nearby. I'll let you guys know as soon as I have more informatian. :)

I guess that's all for now. Hoping to get some more photo's up on facebook. And I hope to be a VIP on here soon, so i can put my photo's up on here aswell. Hope you guys are all well!

lots of love, xoxoxo Amy

  • 06 Oktober 2012 - 09:08

    Eva Mulder:

    EEMZ!!! Wat een superverhaal!! :D Je hebt het echt naar je zin he, zo leuk om te lezen!! En wat te gek dat je daar misschien mag gaan werken... Echt iets voor jou! Ooo lucky girl!! Geniet ervan!! Heel veel liefs from rainy NL!!!
    Miss ya!!! XXX

  • 06 Oktober 2012 - 11:17

    Luka:

    Wauw Eems wat geweldig! Heel erg leuk om te lezen dat het zo goed met je gaat. Je ranch avonturen klinken echt geweldig en ik ben lichtelijk jaloers haha! Geniet ervan!! Dikke kus! Xxx

  • 07 Oktober 2012 - 22:02

    Monique, Lianne & Femke Klok:

    Hoi Amy, Wat geweldig om te lezen hoeveel plezier je hebt. Je hebt er zo lang op gewacht en dan nu eindelijk alles wat je wilde. Nu maar hopen dat die baan ook goed komt!!! groetjes Lianne, Femke en Monique

  • 09 Oktober 2012 - 13:45

    Marcella:

    Girl!!!
    Zo fijn dat je het zo naar je zin hebt!!!
    Geniet van alles wat je doet! Missyouuuuuuu!! xxxxx

  • 10 Oktober 2012 - 11:26

    Basil:

    Hows my best friend? Thought I would try this to see if it works. If it does, will send to you again with more love.
    Basiie

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Amy

Hi you guys! After a lot of debating on the destination and a lot of saving it's finally happening; Amy goes Aussie! Hope you will all enjoy my stories , adventures and photo's and that you will all keep me updated about what's happening in your life! I'll do my best to write everyting (or as much as possible) in English so everyone will be able to read it. xoxoxo lots of love Amy

Actief sinds 09 Mei 2012
Verslag gelezen: 602
Totaal aantal bezoekers 13824

Voorgaande reizen:

18 September 2012 - 30 November -0001

Amy goes Aussie!

Landen bezocht: