You can't stop the waves, so learn how to surf! - Reisverslag uit Sydney, Australië van Amy Visser - WaarBenJij.nu You can't stop the waves, so learn how to surf! - Reisverslag uit Sydney, Australië van Amy Visser - WaarBenJij.nu

You can't stop the waves, so learn how to surf!

Door: Amy

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Amy

27 September 2012 | Australië, Sydney

Hi Everyone,

My first week in Australia is a fact! The flight wasn't bad at all, loads of things to do/see on the tv screen and the food wasn't bad either.

The first days went by really quick with me just trying to get over my jet lag, and hanging out in front of the Opera House.
Friday we all hung out at the Scubar, a little bar with good music to dance to so it was great. I met a guy there who's also from Holland, starting at Uni soon at the Gold Coast and we decided to go whale watching the next day.
Sadly the tour was full, but we had a great trip to Manly beach and a look at all the nice shops, there was a really good vibe going on overthere and we had a good time :)

Later that night we went clubbing again, and ended up in really strange area...it was supposed to be really cool... but there were like prostitutes all over the street so we didn't stick around.

Sunday we all chilled out a Bondi beach, which was really nice, but also a bit cold, because there was still a bit of breeze. We walked the coastal path, and that was lovely too. It was a good day, and when we got back to the hostel we all baked pancakes together.

Monday: Surfcamp! We got picked up at 9 am, and me and 5 others didn't fit into the big bus, so we went in the van with the owner of the surfcamp. OMG, it was the funniest ride, like, ever!! I've only ever been in a car with two people who drive more insane than i do ( I think you know who you are ;) but this was nothing in comparrison. ' What is that bugger doing, look at that fucker go!' All the while speading like madness and making U turns just on an ongoing road. Everyone was feeling really sick after that ride, except for me ofcourse because I tend to drive like that myself hahahaah :D oh well, it was quite the expierence.
Turns out he was from south Africa, even asked us if we knew this band called ' die antwoord' and I said: yeah yeah i do! hahaha. He's one of the best surfers out there and used to compete in the junior league. Really cool too just hang out with all of those experienced surfers and learn from them. I had an awesome time and met some great new people! (really glad the whole group thing is over, much rather be on my own and meet knew people) I met a guy called Ash, he lives in New Zealand and I might actually go and meet him in NZ in January, just to hang out and see the country. It would be awesome to go there aswell, especially because I wasn't planning on going there. We'll have to see how it goes.

The next few days I'm hanging out in Sydney. Tomorrow I'm going to hike through the blue mountains, and on saturday i'm going whale watching (at last) yeeeej! Awesome! :D I'm really looking forward to leaving Sydney and going op North to the Outback and working there. I don't think Sydney is one of the best places to be in Oz, it's just to crowded!

So far so good, and I'm enjoying my time here. This afternoon i'm meeting up with another guy from Holland, who i came in contact with whilst i was still in Holland and where going to have a look around Paddy's market, ist's supposed to be good! Gotta go, hope ill get some photo's on soon!

All my love, miss you guys but enjoying myself.. so far so good! Hoping to get work at the ranch next week. Just so you know, no free wifi at hostels so I guess it'll be only an occasional update from me. But you can always send me a text at my aussie number: 0452371360.

Please let me know how you guys are getting on over there!

Lots of love xoxoxox Amy

  • 27 September 2012 - 11:15

    Daphne:

    Eems! Wat klinkt je verhaal goed zeg en wat een prachtige foto's op je fb! Ik krijg gewoon zin om even naar je toe te vliegen haha. Gelukkig nog geen haaien tegen gekomen? Veel plezier met Whale Watching enz en kijk uit naar je volgende verslagje :)! xx

  • 27 September 2012 - 11:34

    Marcella:

    Oooohhh Amy! Wat klinkt dat toch leuk allemaal.
    Hopelijk spot je nog wat walvissen! wel foto's maken dan he!?
    Lots of love!!! kus

  • 27 September 2012 - 11:34

    Marcella:

    Oooohhh Amy! Wat klinkt dat toch leuk allemaal.
    Hopelijk spot je nog wat walvissen! wel foto's maken dan he!?
    Lots of love!!! kus

  • 27 September 2012 - 18:42

    Monique Klok:

    Wat een mooi verhaal en fijn dat je het zo naar je zin hebt. haha...ik kijk uit naar het volgende verslag(niet te lang wachten,hoor)! Heel veel plezier daar en natuurlijk ook groetjes van Femke, Lianne en Teun.

  • 28 September 2012 - 08:03

    Tineke:

    En de eerste indrukken zijn zo te lezen al geweldig!
    Leuk te lezen Amy en Veel plezier verder!!
    Lfs

  • 28 September 2012 - 11:47

    Eva Mulder:

    Chickitaaaaa wat superleuk om te lezen dat je het zo naar je zin hebt daar en leuke mensen ontmoet!!! Ik hoop alleen dat ik niet 1 van the insane drivers ben waar jij bij in de auto hebt gezeten hebt hahaha :D!! Heeeeel veel plezier, awesome dat je walvissies gaat zien!!! Veel foto's maken please :D!!!
    Love!!! xxxxx

  • 08 Oktober 2012 - 09:24

    Simone Dik:

    He amy,

    Wat een geweldig verhaal, alsof ik er zelf ben. Je maakt nu al een geweldige reis lees ik, ben benieuwd wat je nog allemaal gaat meemaken. Heel veel plezier en tot lees. groetjes Simone

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Amy

Hi you guys! After a lot of debating on the destination and a lot of saving it's finally happening; Amy goes Aussie! Hope you will all enjoy my stories , adventures and photo's and that you will all keep me updated about what's happening in your life! I'll do my best to write everyting (or as much as possible) in English so everyone will be able to read it. xoxoxo lots of love Amy

Actief sinds 09 Mei 2012
Verslag gelezen: 546
Totaal aantal bezoekers 13816

Voorgaande reizen:

18 September 2012 - 30 November -0001

Amy goes Aussie!

Landen bezocht: